Print this page Geophysical Laboratory on Facebook Geophysical Laboratory on Flickr Click for RSS

Michael John O'Hara was Awarded the 2007 Harry H. Hess Medal

Geophysical Laboratory Alumnus, Michael John O'Hara was awarded the 2007 Harry H. Hess Medal at the AGU Fall Meeting on December 12, 2007. The Harry H. Hess medal is awarded not more than once annually to an individual “for outstanding achievements in research of the constitution and evolution of Earth and other planets.” The Hess Medal was established in 1984 and is named in honor of Harry H. Hess, who made many contributions to geology, mineralogy, and geophysics.
Mike O’Hara received his Ph.D. from the University of Edinburgh, and was a Postdoctoral Fellow in 1962-1963. As he wrote in his acceptance speech, he had "a wildly stimulating year at the Geophysical Laboratory with Frank Schairer and Hat Yoder", where he worked on melting residues after basalt extraction.   

His studies of the petrogenesis of mantle rocks greatly advanced the field of igneous petrology and geochemistry. Mike followed a long tradition of graduates of the University of Edinburgh who became fellows at the Geophysical Laboratory. 

For more information on the Harry M. Hess medal and recipients: