Print this page Geophysical Laboratory on Facebook Geophysical Laboratory on Flickr Click for RSS

Hiroko Nagahara Awarded J Lawrence Smith Medal

Hiroko Nagahara was awarded the 2015 J. Lawrence Smith Medal.  Nagahara was a postdoctoral associate at the Geophysical Laboratory with Bjorn Mysen in the mid 80's.

The J. Lawrence Smith Medal is awarded every three years for investigations of meteoric bodies. The award includes a $50,000 prize. The award was established as a gift from Sarah Julia Smith in memory of her husband and has been presented since 1888.

Nagahara, professor in the department of earth and planetary science at the University of Tokyo, was awarded the medal for her work on the kinetics of evaporation and condensation processes in the early Solar System and her fundamental contributions to one of the most enduring mysteries in meteoritics, the formation of the chondrules that constitute the characteristic component of the most abundant group of meteorites.

To read more, click here.